There was one highlight to outshine all the rest today, and that was receiving a package in the mail from my mom. It was a combination birthday/care package, and was absolutely stuffed with an assortment little things that I love. Its hard to believe that she managed to fit this all into one box, but she did, and it was so great I took a photo.
The fabulous package included:
- A vintage Coach bag for my birthday. My mom has one of these little, cross-body classics, and I've always eyed it. I'm so excited to have my own now. The leather quality is amazing and having a basic little bag like this is so functional. I can't wait to use it when I go out.
-Notecards (with the ten cent price tag) from Weld Heritage Day's incredible "Trash-or-Treasure"
-PG Tips, my favorite British tea that I drink every morning at home
-More tea and Crystal Light, of assorted varieties
-Ginger Chews, a spicy candy my mom and I both love
-Two boxes of Annie's Organic Mac-n-Cheese. HURRAY FOR FOOD!
-Trader Joe's Dried Cranberries
-Dried Edamame Beans (salty soy beans) from Costco. Protein! Yes!
-My green t-shirt I accidentally left at home
-A thumb drive
-The latest issue of Cosmo (in English!)
-And photos on loan from the fridge at 50 Union Street, including my kitties, friend Chris, Weld, and perhaps the most essential, a photo of my mom and me from when I was a baby:
I can't even explain how excited I was when I got my package. Packi accepted it from the mailman, and left it on the kitchen table for me, and when I walked into the house after my run and she showed my the package, I couldn't remember how to say "scissors"to ask for a pair to open the box with. Too excited! A huge thank you to the best Mama in the world for sending my a box filled with Maurine favorites/essentials.
So to rewind, I went for a four mile run first thing this morning. I was going to take today off, but I don't have a lot of homework, and I didn't have class until 5:30, so I thought I might as well go out for a bit on my so-called day off. My shins really hurt though, so I think that I've been running too much or not getting the nutrition that I'm used to at home. At home I usually run the same amount, if not more, so it definitely has something to do with the change in environment and diet. Tomorrow I'm going to take a day off from high-impact running and figure out some alternative at the gym instead. Hopefully my bones will hurt less... I love to run!
Classes today, Geografía y Historia de Fotografía, were both good. I'm still exhausted from being in this new environment though, so focusing was somewhat difficult. Today was also the first real Fotografía class, and we covered some of the technical details and history of the various types of cameras, which isn't really my interest. Between that and being hungry and tired (the class is from 7 to 9 on Tuesdays), I was lost. Hopefully next time will be more analytical and less technical, in which case my liberal arts training will kick in. In the long haul, I'm sure I'l do perfectly well in the class.
And finally, home for a quick dinner (small pile of rice and peas) and now upstairs to push through a bit of work and go to bed. Maybe its because I don't have "siesta" time in my schedule and the hours here are pushed so late and I'm craving actual food, but every day here in Spain seems like two. Also, I haven't had any fro-yo yet today, and I'm too tired to go get some. Lucky for me I got a kick-ass care package in the mail today filled with other yummy things to eat. Need sustenance! I have to go buy more peanut butter tomorrow....
No comments:
Post a Comment